A quick look at what I’ve been up to with Local Roots NYC

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 4.51.27 PM

I’ve been working a lot these past few months on finishing up the final edits of a kitchen field guide that I’m making for the CSA that I work for.  Basically, we’ve included tips and tricks to help people maximize the potential of their CSA.  We’ve included our favorite recipes for dinner, our go-to formulas for preserving fruits and veggies, and even food storage tips.  Because the final product has not yet been released, I will share with you just a few screenshots of my work.

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 4.51.40 PM

Above is a map of what we consider “local”: anything within 150 miles of our home base in Brooklyn.  I created the map in Adobe Illustrator, and, using Google Map, placed markers that represent where our CSA shares come from.

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 4.52.05 PM

I developed this graphic to help new cooks find points of reference for unfamiliar vegetables that might appear in our CSA shares, like spigarello, broccoli rabe, or kohlrabi. When looking at recipes, I often visualize maps like these.   I want to share food knowledge with others in a way that communicates the simplicity and joy that you find when adapting recipes to fit your CSA share.

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 4.52.27 PM

This last graphic is part of a page that shows four ways of “extending” the CSA season, or in other words, preserving what you get in summer so that you can enjoy it in winter.  Pesto features one of my favorite color combinations in the guidebook.

Standard

Leave a Reply

